Balut on the good ship “Cinco”

I’m posting this from an Internet Cafe in Cuyo town proper. I arrived a few minutes ago.

I only have several hours to connect with the world so I’ll begin with a few short posts.

Balading Bisucay Cuyo "Retired No Way"

The welcome arch to Bgy Balading

I spent the night at the house of my new best friend, Mr. Conrad Bonilla, in the island of Bisucay <bee-su-kai>. This was provincial life on another level: it was island living. The small island of Bisucay is home to about 600 households (or 2,200 souls). They have electricity only from 6 to 11 p.m. They have no Internet connectivity. And they lack a bakery.

Bisucay "Retired No Way"

Bisucay Island, Cuyo Archipelago, Palawan

About the image above

Above image came from the nautical map being used by the ship I rode in. The fact that the three barangays on the island have different names: Balading, Funda, and Caburian indicate how outdated the map is. It was printed in 2003 it said but the content had obviously not been updated since the 1960s. Why is this detail significant? Well, why are maps updated? Because borders and features change and in the case of nautical maps:

  • because sands shift and what was once deep is now shallow
  • because ships sink and their wrecks can become navigational hazards
  • because coral reefs grow and shrink and reefs are major navigational hazards.

Bats fornicating

I was glad for my sleep even if it came in fits and stretches. It couldn’t be helped. Those damn bats were either having loud sex or fighting over mango again. Bats may hunt in the ultrasound but they have sex in the audible range. I was tempted to pick my way out of my mosquito net, tiptoe on to the street, and startle them with flash photography but it was raining. Rarely have I had a night that was as full of nocturnal activity. It was raining, mosquitoes were biting, and those damn bats were fornicating. That is a no B.S. description of last night.

Balut (or Balot) on the good ship “Cinco”

Every foreign visitor must have heard of balut. Rather than try to compete with other entertaining posts about it (like this one), I shall focus on this short pictorial.

Balot "Retired No Way"

Balot. Duck Egg. Thirteen pesos only for gobs of nutritious protein.

Piping hot, I had to roll it between the palms of my hands before it cooled enough to break a hole in it.

Balot Balut "Retired No Way"

Get grossed out. Look at my thumbnail.

Please realize that I was trying to juggle a still warm egg, my camera, and my camera case, while not trying to spill the yummy juice (a neonatal fluid, yuck) on myself when I took these photos.

Balut Balot "Retired No Way"

The chick embryo "feeds" on the yellow yolk to grow while inside the egg.

And here’s the chick.

Balut Balot "Retired No Way"

Trivia: not all Filipinos like balut.

Okay.

Tomorrow, I’ll show you why low tide in Bisucay impressed me.

Balading Bisucay Cuyo "Retired No Way"

How Balading got its name

Leave a Reply

